Recommended Movies 6

6. My Son, My Son, What have ye done (2009)

vlcsnap-00000

My Son, My Son, What have ye done (2009)

Director: Werner Herzog

Ex. Producer: David Lynch

Country: USA / Germany

Based on true events with an interesting narrative plot, the film combines Herzog’s strengths as a documentary filmmaker and a storyteller. Brilliant performance from Michael Shannon and spectacular cinematography from Peter Zeitlinger, Herzog’s favourite cinematographer (cave of the forgotten dreams, Rescue Dawn, Grizzly man,…), makes the film worth watching.

 From the film:

Detective Vargas (Pena): I think I can handle this, we gotta make nice to the guy you know, call him compadre or something.

Detective Havenhurst (Dafoe): Compadre? He is Irish I think, maybe even Scottish ! Mr.McCullum, may I call you Brad?

McCullum (Shannon): You can call me Brad ! You can call me Feruck ! You can call me any damn thing you like ! Hey God is here, he is in the house with me ! But I don’t need him anymore, I don’t need God anymore.

 imdb

Trailer

September 2013, Hamed Karkan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment